Moving from Nikola to Hugo

Moving from Nikola to Hugo

As part of my recent Move to Hugo I wrote a few small tools that may be useful (with tweaking) for someone else doing the same, or moving from a similar static hosting platform.

Basic configuration

I was extremely happy to find that I could keep my existing permalink structure just by editing config.toml:

[permalinks]
post = “/:year/:month/:title/”
Importing content

The first part of content was easy, as Nikola and Hugo have very similar methods for storing static files. I just had to copy the contents of my serialized-nikola/files tree to my serialized-hugo/static tree.

The next part was a little trickier. Nikola:

Supports Restructured Text, which I used for a few posts
Has a different frontmatter format (Restructured Text style, wrapped in HTML comments for markdown)
Has a different date syntax – actually, supports more flexible dates, so I had several syntaxes in play.
I had enough posts (137) that doing this by hand would have been not fun at all, so of course, I scripted it. It’s not a generically useful script – I even hard coded in some of my paths – but if you’re doing a similar migration it might be a good starting point. Nikola has a crazy-high degree of flexibility, this script specifically only handles the subset of what I was using.

Please also note, for these one-and-done scripts I tend to ignore my typically rigorous testing and error checking habits. 😁

Here’s the process:

conversion process

Yet again, pandoc to the rescue, as it made converting from Restructured Text to Markdown a breeze.

    args = ['pandoc', '--from=rst', '--to=markdown', '--output=-']
    args.append(srcpath)
    data['content'] = subprocess.check_output(args)

I went through the majority of the posts by hand, and there were only a few things that got left behind (that I noticed), like YouTube embed codes, that were easy to fix up by hand. It was really incredible to run the script and in a matter of seconds have the livereload refresh to reveal a fully functional site.

Spring Cleaning

While I was migrating, I realized there were a lot of images and random other files which were no longer used, many from posts which I had retired long ago. Almost all static site generators (including hugo) do struggle with image/post locality; there’s a good discussion in a github issue.. Because of this, I had about 500 files in my static/ directory, and I had no idea which were still being referenced or not.

Thanks to all the posts being in markdown, I realized the paths would have to show up in those files, so built out a simple tool to

find all the files in static/, and normalize the paths to match what they actually look like from the webserver
Open every file in the content tree, and keep track of any of the static file paths which appear in them
Output all the static files which have zero references
This tool is in go: unused_images.go.

Go’s, unsuprisingly, very powerful when doing this kind of task. A snippet showing the gathering process:

var seen map[string]int

func findImages(path string, f os.FileInfo, err error) error {
imageRe := regexp.MustCompile("images/.*$")
seen[imageRe.FindString(path)] = 0
return nil
}

func main() {

seen = make(map[string]int)
filepath.Walk(images, findImages)

}

It ran seemingly instantly, and spit out a list of over 100 files that could be deleted, which is excellent (and 100 images fewer to have to check state on every time the deploy/sync process runs.)

Leave a Reply

